You are here

Social Justice Scholarship for Rutgers Students, Deadline March 1, 2017

Submitted by Staff on Fri, 10/28/2016 - 16:02

The Rutgers AAUP-AFT is proud to announcement that we will again be accepting applications to the Wells H. Keddie Scholarship. The deadline for students to apply is March 1, 2017.

2017 is the 12th year of this annual scholarship! Union members are encouraged to nominate or recommend a worthy undergraduate student who is in his/her/their junior year.

Every year in the spring since 2006 one or more Rutgers students have been awarded a scholarship for social activism and quality academic work. 

In the 2016 year, the following 5 Rutgers undergraduate students received a scholarship:

Sivan Rosenthal - $1500 (Majors: Planning & Public Policy; Middle Eastern Studies--New Brunswick)
Monica Torres - $1500 (Majors: Latino & Caribbean Studies; Women's & Gender Studies; Minor in History--New Brunswick)
Antolina Padua - $1000 (Major: Communication; Minor: Critical Sexualities Studies--New Brunswick)
Pinky Liau - $1000 (Major: Environmental Science--New Brunswick)
Alyssa Delal Kocak - $1000 (Majors: Philosophy; Communication; Minor: Digital Communication, Information & Media--New Brunswick)


The scholarship will be awarded to one (or more) undergraduate students who meet the following criteria:

1. The student is expected to have earned a total of 60-90 credits by June of the semester preceding the scholarship award (normally a Junior)

2. The student is enrolled in any of the Rutgers undergraduate colleges - New Brunswick area, Camden, or Newark

3. The student combines solid academic work with social activism.


The application/nomination process consists of the following:

1. A letter of nomination by a faculty member, describing the student's involvement in social activism, whether on campus or off campus, and explaining why the student would be a good choice for this particular award.

2. A personal statement by the student, regarding both current activism and long-term goals.

3. A copy of the student's transcript

4. A resume listing the student's activities and responsibilities

5. A letter of recommendation by a second faculty member.


The Trustees who make the decision are:

Amy Bahruth, Part-Time Lecturer, SMLR: Labor Studies--New Brunswick;
Elizabeth Hull, Full-time faculty member, Full Professor, Political Science--Newark; and
Jose Robinson, Senior Educational Opportunity Fund (EOF) Counselor--Camden (retired)

The scholarship honors the memory of Professor Wells H. Keddie, a long-time union activist, member and officer of the Rutgers AAUP-AFT Executive Council, and Professor Emeritus of the Department of Labor Studies (School of Management and Labor Relations--New Brunswick).

Click here to download a flyer to post and distribute to students you think should apply for the scholarship and for whom you would write either a letter of nomination or a letter of recommendation.

Any union member at any rank is welcome to nominate or recommend a worthy student. Rutgers employees who work as part-time lecturers, full-time faculty, postdocs, EOF Counselors, teaching assistants or graduate assistants, winter or summer instructors are all eligible to nominate/recommend. 


Share this page:

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
Reddit icon
e-mail icon